R.I.M. Porter Novelli

Complex support of Moscow Urban Forum 2013

slide-1-

CHALLENGE

The Moscow Urban Forum is an annual event, supported by the Moscow City Government. It is aimed at promoting the development of the Russian capital and becoming the platform for discussing the problems and ways of development of Moscow with the inhabitants and expert society, including international one. Established in 2011, the Forum is visited by several thousand delegates from dozens of countries. There are several round tables, lectures and seminars within the business program of the Forum, which are not only an effective platform for communication of urbanists, but also a starting point for solution of the current urban problems.

However, despite the high status of the participants, the Forum is still not recognized by the international expert society as one of the key international platforms for discussing global urban problems. Except the narrow group of experts, the brand of the Moscow Urban Forum is little known in the international urban society. Moreover, the Russian specialists in the sphere of urban development and the representatives of the Moscow City Government taking part in the Forum, are recognized not as fully competent experts in their sphere, but as the experts adopting the international practices. The successful development of a megacity means active discussion of urban development plans not only by specialists, but also by public representatives. Despite this fact, the Forum is still the event for a quite narrow expert group.

The main topic of the Moscow Urban Forum in 2013 was the development of the city periphery. This issue is topical not only for the Russian capital, but also for the world’s largest megacities.

The following objectives were determined with the aim of development of the status of the Moscow Urban Forum as a key world platform for discussing urban issues:

  • Building of the Forum brand awareness;
  • Promotion of Russian speakers as the experts in the sphere of development of the city programs and projects aimed at the improvement of the city environment;
  • Wide coverage of participation of the world experts in the Forum program;
  • Improvement of the Forum awareness among target audiences.

SOLUTION

Communication strategy

To achieve the key campaign aims, the Agency developed the complex communication system consisting of several stages:

  • Informational Stage – presentation of the Moscow Urban Forum to the Russian and foreign expert audiences (June – August, 2013). At this stage, the participation of the Forum representatives in huge international events was actively covered in media. It promoted not only the image of Russian experts, but also the media coverage of the Forum long before its beginning.
  • Announcement Stage – informing of the target audiences about the details of the future Forum in December of 2013, the Forum agenda and speakers (September – November, 2013).
  • PR-accompaniment during the Forum (December 5-7, 2013)
  • Post-PR-support – arrangement of interviews with the key speakers, which failed to be organized due to the tight agenda during the event in Moscow (December, 2013 – January, 2014).

Tactics, creative solutions

Prior to the Moscow Urban Forum, its organizers initiated some own researches which should have promoted the expert image of the Forum and involved the main groups of the target audiences into productive discussions.

One of the key communicational problems of the Forum was insufficient awareness of the target audiences about the Forum in general and about the Russian experts taking part in the event. During the informational stage of the campaign, it was decided to demonstrate the active participation of the representatives of the Moscow Urban Forum in the main world events in this sphere. It promoted the development of the image of Russian experts and the improvement of the Forum awareness in the world expert society several months before the announcement of the event.

The experience of conducting huge urban events in the world in general and the Moscow Urban Forum in particular has shown the insufficient involvement of mass audience, such as socially active groups and the representatives of public organizations. It mostly related to the fact that the announcing PR-company is focused on the expert society, without paying much attention to the non-specialized audiences. Moreover, the event platform often cannot accommodate all its guests during the one or two-day program.

This problem was solved by arrangement of the Festival Day, the third and informal day of the Forum program, taking place on outside platforms. As of the moment of conducting the Moscow Urban Forum-2013, this format was unique among other similar urban events in the world.

Practical actions

Promotion of the Moscow Urban Forum brand and the Russian experts at foreign events in the industry

During 2013, the delegates of the Moscow Urban Forum visited the biggest urban world events. In their speeches, the Russian experts told about the latest achievements in the Moscow infrastructure development, shared the experience in urban realm improvement and took part in the discussions along with the world urban leaders. The expositions of the Moscow Urban Forum were presented at the platforms. The Russian delegation met with the majors of the world’s largest megacities, who were officially invited to the Moscow Urban Forum in December. The visits of the Moscow delegation were covered in Russian and foreign media.

Cooperation with media at different stages of the communicational campaign

To increase the media coverage of the Moscow Urban Forum during the whole year up to the beginning of the Forum in December, the Agency initiated the coverage opportunities at each stage of the communicational campaign.

During the informational stage, the active participation of the representatives of the Moscow Urban Forum in the world’s biggest urban events was covered in Russian and foreign media. The Agency initiated dozens of articles and interviews with the Russian experts.

At the announcement stage, the largest part of the publications was dedicated to the list of the confirmed speakers and the Forum business program. As the participants were selected, the interviews and the commentaries of international speakers covering the key tendencies and the Moscow development problems, were initiated. It allowed to attract the attention of the target audience to the Forum agenda long before the event.

During the Moscow Urban Forum, the Agency was arranging the work of press-service at the platform. The work of media managers, copywriters, photographers and professional photo-team of RIA Novosti at the event ensured the immediate preparation of media materials: most of materials and photos were ready to be sent during an hour after the event, the translation into English and distribution were made in two hours. The press-service at the event initiated and conducted several dozens of interviews with the Forum speakers.

Arrangement of the press-tour of foreign journalists to the Moscow Urban Forum

The event was mainly visited by the journalists from the countries where the conferences with the participation of the representatives of the Moscow Urban Forum took place during the whole year: Brazil, Great Britain, Spain and the USA. The media representatives from these countries had been already aware of the Forum and the key Russian experts and were among the positively inclined journalists. The journalists from India, China, Indonesia and Turkey – the countries where the issue of effective development of big cities is very topical, and which are interested in the Russian experience, -were invited to Moscow as well. It promoted the image of the Forum representatives as the urban experts. The series of special press-events with the participation of the representatives of the Moscow City Government and the Forum was arranged for foreign journalists.

Informational partnership with the key media

To effectively cover all the events of the 3-day Forum program, the Agency managed to attract 37 informational partners from the main Russian and foreign media. The exclusive TV partners of the Moscow Urban Forum were the largest Russian informational online TV-channels such as Russia-24, Moscow-24 and Russia Today TV Channel, which broadcast live from the event platforms. Dozhd TV Channel was a special TV-partner of the Forum, and Business FM Radio Station was an exclusive multimedia event partner.

The print media partners of the Forum were Expert magazine, RBK daily newspaper and the leading international design and architectural magazine AD/Architechtural Digest. The Forum work was covered by online-media such as Gazeta.ru, RBK Real Estate, The Village and the project of RIA Novosti “Smart City of the Future”. Interfax Group was engaged as an official media partner of the Forum. Moreover, several foreign media received the status of informational partners: Xinhua News Agency (China), CitiesToday magazine (Great Britain), Volume magazine (the Netherlands), ArchDaily and Archello architectural web-resources, as well as the international application Russia Beyond the Headlines (RBTH).

The festival day for a wide audience

Despite the desire of the Forum organizers to make the event available for a wide audience, the central Forum platform – the Moscow Manege – could not accommodate all the guests interested in the city development. Therefore it was decided to extend the 2-day Forum program and to arrange the so-called festival day for a wide audience. The Forum covered several cultural and educational platforms of Moscow, where the visitors could take part in the round tables, listen to the most interesting lectures of the Forum experts and communicate with the speakers. Various master-classes and entertainment events were organized for children. The city volunteers presented their initiatives, and the experts – architects, sociologists and developers – their views on the future of Russian cities. The festival day greatly extended the active Forum audience and allowed the citizens to take part in discussing the city development plans.

Promotion of exclusive researches of the Forum

The experts of the Moscow Urban Forum initiated the interdisciplinary research “Archaeology of the Periphery” dedicated to peripheral districts of big cities, especially Moscow. The experts of the Forum gave the urbanists an opportunity to study the problem of periphery development on the example of one of the biggest cities in the world and to compare the situation in Moscow with other cities. Therefore, the promotion of this material not only attracted the interest of the international expert society and media to the key Forum topic, but also improved the image of the experts of the Moscow Urban Forum. The research results were first exclusively published on the first Forum day by RBK Daily newspaper. Many interviews with the Forum experts dedicated to the unique methods and the research results were arranged at the Forum.

If “Archaeology of the Periphery” Project was mainly developed for the expert society, “What Moscow Wants” Project allowed to cover the wider target audience of the Forum – socially active Moscow inhabitants. During two months, the city inhabitants shared their ideas concerning the Moscow development at the web-site www.moscowidea.ru: users put tags on the interactive map, where, for example, it is necessary to plant a garden or to build a bridge. Then designers and architects suggested their projects, which were presented at the Moscow Urban Forum in December. The project “What Moscow Wants” became an excellent demonstration of the Forum concept – to give an opportunity to the city inhabitants and the experts to find the solutions of the topical problems of Moscow.

RESULT

The complex communication support of the Agency resulted in the significant improvement of the image of the Moscow Urban Forum as the key platform for discussing the urban issues due to the development of the Forum awareness and the expertise of the Russian speakers.

In the period of the communicational campaign, the Forum activity and topics were covered in Russian and foreign print and online media, on TV and radio channels. Over 1,000 full unique materials with the key messages of the campaign were published in such media as Kommersant, Vedomosti, RBK Daily, Forbes, BRICS, Rossiyskaya Gazeta, Moskovskij Komsomolets, Vechernyaya Moskva, Profile, Company, etc. About 140 publications in business and industry foreign media were initiated, including such media as Le Monde, Xinhua, Euronews, ArchDaily, CRI, The Jakarta Post, O Globo, Today’s Zaman, The Hindu Business Line, El Pais, etc. Videos and interviews with the Forum speakers were broadcast on the main federal TV channels, including Channel One, Russia 1, TVC, Russia 24, Russia Today and Moscow 24 at prime time. The general coverage of the communicational campaign amounted to over 700 million people.

37 key Russian TV and radio channels, print and online media were attracted as the informational partners of the Forum (for comparison, there were only 21 partners in 2012). The equivalent of the attracted budget from the informational partners amounted to 30 million rubles.

The Moscow Urban Forum was nominated for “The Moscow Times Awards” in the category “Business Event of the Year”. “What Moscow Wants” Project became the prize winner of the “Results of the Year of The Village” annual award in the nomination “Development of Dormitory Districts”.

One of the results not only of the Forum, but also of the actions of the Moscow City Government concerning the implementation of the recommendations, developed at the Forum, was the inclusion of Moscow into Top-5 of the most important European cities according to Knight Frank, an international consulting company. Moscow was only 12 in 2013, and such rapid rise was promoted by the experts’ high rating of life quality, economic activity level and impact of the inhabitants on the positive city situation.

All projects

R.I.M. Porter Novelli

Комплексная поддержка Московского урбанистического форума 2013

slide-1-

ЗАДАЧА

Московский урбанистический форум — ежегодное мероприятие, проводимое при поддержке Правительства Москвы, призванное содействовать развитию столицы и стать площадкой для обсуждения проблем и путей развития Москвы с жителями и экспертным сообществом, в том числе международным. Проводимый с 2011 года, форум собирает несколько тысяч делегатов из десятков стран. В рамках деловой программы форума проходят десятки круглых столов, лекций и семинаров, которые становятся не только эффективной площадкой для общения урбанистов, но и отправной точкой для решения назревших городских проблем.

Однако несмотря на достаточно высокий статус участников, форум по-прежнему не воспринимается мировым экспертным сообществом как одна из ключевых международных площадок для обсуждения глобальных проблем в сфере урбанистики. За исключением узкого круга экспертов бренд Московского урбанистического форума мало узнаваем в мировом урбанистическом сообществе. Кроме того российские специалисты в области городского развития и представители Правительства Москвы, участвующие в Форуме, воспринимаются скорее как перенимающие зарубежный опыт коллег, а не полноправные эксперты в своей сфере. Успешное развитие мегаполиса подразумевает активное обсуждение планов городского развития не только специалистами, но и представителями общественности. Несмотря на это, форум остается мероприятием для довольно узкого круга экспертов.

Главной темой Московского урбанистического форума в 2013 году стало развитие периферии города ― вопрос актуальный не только для российской столицы, но и для крупнейших мегаполисов мира.

С целью развития репутации Московского урбанистического форума в качестве ключевой мировой площадки обсуждения вопросов урбанистики, были определены следующие задачи:

  • Повышение узнаваемости бренда форума;
  • Продвижение российских спикеров в качестве экспертов в области формирования городских программ и проектов, направленных на улучшение городской среды;
  • Широкое освещение участия мировых экспертов в программе форума;
  • Повышение осведомлённости целевых аудиторий о деятельности форума.

РЕШЕНИЕ

Коммуникационная стратегия

Для достижения ключевых целей кампании, агентством была разработана комплексная коммуникационная стратегия, состоявшая из нескольких этапов:

  • Информирующий этап ― представление Московского урбанистического форума российским и зарубежным экспертным аудиториям (июнь ― август 2013). На данном этапе в СМИ активно освещалось участие представителей форума в крупных международных отраслевых мероприятиях. Это способствовало не только укреплению репутации российских экспертов, но и росту количества упоминаний форума в СМИ задолго до самого мероприятия.
  • Анонсирующий этап ― информирование целевых аудиторий о деталях предстоящего форума в декабре 2013 года, повестка и спикеры Форума (сентябрь ― ноябрь 2013)
  • PR-сопровождение непосредственно во время проведения Форума (5–7 декабря 2013)
  • Пост-PR-поддержка ― организация интервью с ключевыми спикерами, которые в силу напряженного графика не удалось провести во время мероприятия в Москве (декабрь 2013 ― январь 2014)

Тактика, Креативные решения

В преддверии Московского урбанистического форума организаторами было инициировано несколько собственных исследований, которые должны были способствовать укреплению экспертной репутации форума и вовлечь основные группы целевых аудиторий в продуктивные дискуссии.

Одной из ключевых коммуникационных проблем форума была недостаточная осведомлённость целевых аудиторий о форуме в целом и о российских экспертах, выступающих в рамках мероприятия. В ходе информирующего этапа кампании было решено продемонстрировать активное участие представителей Московского урбанистического форума в главных мировых отраслевых событиях. Это способствовало развитию репутации российских специалистов и повышению узнаваемости Форума среди мирового экспертного сообщества за несколько месяцев до анонсирования самого мероприятия.

Опыт проведения крупных урбанистических мероприятий в мире и, в частности, Московского урбанистического форума показал недостаточную вовлеченность массовых аудитории, таких как социально активные группы граждан и представителей общественных организаций. Как правило, это связано с тем, что анонсирующая PR-кампания фокусируется на экспертном сообществе, уделяя недостаточно внимания неспециализированной аудитории. А кроме того, площадка проведения мероприятия зачастую не может вместить всех желающих за день-два программы.

Решением этой проблемы стало проведение фестивального дня, который стал третьим и неформальным днём программы форума, на внешних площадках. На момент проведения Московского урбанистического форума 2013 этот формат был уникальным среди подобных урбанистических мероприятий в мире.

Практические действия

Продвижение бренда Московского урбанистического форума и российских экспертов на зарубежных профильных мероприятиях

В течение 2013 года делегаты Московского урбанистического форума посетили крупнейшие урбанистические мероприятия мира. В рамках своих выступлений российские эксперты рассказали о последних достижениях в развитии инфраструктуры города Москвы, делились опытом по улучшению городской среды и участвовали в дискуссиях наряду с мировыми лидерами в области урбанистики. На площадках мероприятий были представлены экспозиции Московского урбанистического форума, российская делегация проводила встречи с мэрами крупнейших мегаполисов мира, которые в том числе были официально приглашены на Московский урбанистический форум в декабре. Визиты московской делегации освещались в российских и зарубежных СМИ.

Взаимодействие со СМИ на различных этапах коммуникационной кампании

Для увеличения упоминаемости Московского урбанистического форума в СМИ в течение всего года до самого форума в декабре, агентством инициировались информационные поводы на каждом этапе коммуникационной кампании.

Во время информационного этапа в российских и зарубежных СМИ освещалось активное участие представителей Московского урбанистического форума в крупнейших урбанистических мероприятиях мира. Агентством были инициированы десятки статей и интервью с российскими экспертами.

В рамках анонсирующего этапа большая часть публикаций была посвящена списку подтверждённых спикеров и деловой программе форума. По мере определения участников были инициированы интервью и комментарии международных спикеров, освещающие ключевые тенденции и проблемы развития Москвы исходя из сферы экспертизы спикера. Это позволило привлечь внимание целевой аудитории к повестке форума задолго до проведения мероприятия.

Во время проведения Московского урбанистического форума агентством была организована работа пресс-службы на площадке. Благодаря работе медиа менеджеров, копирайтеров, собственных фотографов и профессиональной фото-команды РИА Новости на мероприятии удалось обеспечить оперативную подготовку материалов для СМИ: большинство материалов и фотографий были готовы к рассылке в течение часа после события, перевод на английский язык и рассылка производились в течение двух часов. Во время работы пресс-службы на мероприятии было инициировано и проведено несколько десятков интервью со спикерами форума.

Организация пресс-тура зарубежных журналистов на Московский урбанистический форум

На мероприятие были приглашены журналисты в первую очередь из тех стран, в которых проходили конференции с участием представителей Московского урбанистического форума в течение всего года: Бразилия, Великобритания, Испания и США. Представители СМИ из этих стран уже были знакомы с форумом и ключевыми российскими экспертами, и входили в число лояльно настроенных журналистов. В Москву также были приглашены журналисты из Индии, Китая, Индонезии и Турции ― стран, для которых вопрос эффективного развития крупных городов чрезвычайно актуален и которым интересен российский опыт. Это способствовало укреплению репутации представителей форума в качестве экспертов в области урбанистики. Для зарубежных журналистов была организована серия специальных пресс-мероприятий с участием представителей Правительства Москвы и форума.

Информационное партнёрство с ключевыми СМИ

Для эффективного освещения всех мероприятий трёхдневной программы форума, агентству удалось привлечь 37 информационных партнёров из числа ведущих российских и зарубежных СМИ. Эксклюзивными телевизионными партнёрами Московского урбанистического форума стали крупнейшие отечественные информационные телеканалы круглосуточного вещания «Россия 24», «Москва 24» и телеканал Russia Today, которые вели прямые трансляции с площадок мероприятия. Телеканал «Дождь» выступил специальным ТВ-партнёром форума, радиостанция Business FM стала эксклюзивным мультимедийным партнёром мероприятия.

Партнёрами форума среди печатных СМИ стали журнал «Эксперт», газета «РБК daily» и ведущий международный журнал о дизайне и архитектуре AD/Architectural Digest. Работу форума освещали интернет-издания Gazeta.ru, РБК Недвижимость, The Village и проект РИА Новости «Умный город будущего». Группа «Интерфакс» была привлечена в качестве официального медиапартнёра форума. Кроме того, статус информационных партнёров получили несколько зарубежных СМИ: информационное агентство Xinhua (КНР), журнал CitiesToday (Великобритания), журнал Volume (Нидерланды), архитектурные веб-ресурсы ArchDaily, Archello, а также международное приложение Russia Beyond the Headlines (RBTH).

Проведение фестивального дня для широкой аудитории

Несмотря на стремление организаторов форума сделать мероприятие доступным для широкой аудитории, центральная площадка форума, московский Манеж, не может вместить всех интересующихся городским развитием. Поэтому было принято решение расширить двухдневную программу форума и провести так называемый фестивальный день для массовой аудитории. Форум распространился на несколько культурно-образовательных площадок Москвы, где посетители смогли принять участие в круглых столах, услышать самые интересные лекции экспертов форума и пообщаться со спикерами. Для детей были организованы многочисленные мастер-классы и развлекательные мероприятия. Городские активисты смогли выступить со своими инициативами, а эксперты ― архитекторы, социологи и девелоперы ― вынести на обсуждение свое видение будущего российских городов. Фестивальный день значительно расширил активную аудиторию форума и позволил гражданам поучаствовать в обсуждении планов по развитию родного города.

Продвижение эксклюзивных исследований форума

Экспертами Московского урбанистического форума было инициировано междисциплинарное исследование «Археология периферии», посвящённое окраинным районам крупных городов, в первую очередь Москвы. Эксперты форума дали урбанистам возможность изучить проблему развития периферии на материале одного из крупнейших городов мира, сравнить происходящее в Москве с тем, как живут другие города. Таким образом, продвижение этого материала не только привлекло интерес международного экспертного сообщества и СМИ к ключевой теме форума, но и способствовало укреплению экспертной репутации специалистов Московского урбанистического форума. Результаты исследования впервые были опубликованы в первый день форума эксклюзивно газетой РБК Daily. Во время работы форума были организованы многочисленные интервью экспертов форума, посвящённые уникальной методике и результатам исследования.

Если исследование «Археология периферии» предназначалось главным образом для экспертного сообщества, то проект «Чего хочет Москва» позволил охватить более широкую целевую аудитории Форума ― социально активную часть жителей Москвы. В течение двух месяцев горожане высказывали свои идеи по улучшению Москвы на сайте www.moscowidea.ru: пользователи отмечали на интерактивной карте, где, к примеру, необходимо разбить сад или построить мост. После этого дизайнеры и архитекторы предлагали свои решения проектов горожан, которые были представлены в рамках Московского урбанистического форума в декабре. Проект «Чего хочет Москва» стал отличной демонстрацией концепции форума ― дать возможность горожанам и экспертам совместно найти решение актуальных проблем столицы.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ

В результате оказанной агентством комплексной коммуникационной поддержки удалось значительно укрепить репутацию Московского урбанистического форума в качестве ключевой площадки для обсуждения вопросов урбанистики, повысив узнаваемость форума и осведомлённость целевых аудиторий об экспертизе российских спикеров.

В период коммуникационной кампании деятельность и темы форума освещалась в российских и зарубежных печатных и интернет СМИ, ТВ и радио-каналах. Было опубликовано более 1000 развёрнутых уникальных материалов с ключевыми сообщениями кампании в таких СМИ как «КоммерсантЪ», «Ведомости», «РБК daily», Forbes, BRICS, «Российская газета», «Московский комсомолец», «Вечерняя Москва», «Профиль», «Компания» и др. Удалось инициировать около 140 публикаций в деловых и отраслевых зарубежных СМИ, включая такие издания как Le Monde, Xinhua, Euronews, ArchDaily, CRI, The Jakarta Post, O Globo, Today’s Zaman, The Hindu Business Line, El Pais и др. Сюжеты и интервью со спикерами форума вышли на ведущих федеральных телевизионных каналах, включая «Первый канал», «Россия 1», ТВЦ, «Россия 24», Russia Today и «Москва 24» в праймтайм. Общий охват аудитории коммуникационной кампании составил более 700 миллионов человек

В качестве информационных партнёров были привлечены 37 ключевых российских ТВ и радиоканалов, печатных и интернет изданий (для сравнения, в 2012 году был только 21 партнёр). Эквивалент привлечённого бюджета от информационных партнеров составил 30 миллионов рублей.

Московский урбанистический форум был номинирован на премию The Moscow Times Awards в категории «Бизнес событие года». Проект «Чего хочет Москва» стал лауреатом ежегодной премии «Итоги года The Village» в номинации «Развитие спальных районов».

Одним из итогов не только собственно проведения форума, но и шагов правительства Москвы по реализации выработанных форумом рекомендаций стало попадание Москвы в 2014 году в топ-5 самых значимых городов Европы по оценке международной консалтинговой компанией Knight Frank. В 2013 году Москва занимала лишь 12 место, и столь резкий скачок был обеспечен высокой оценкой экспертами качества жизни, уровня экономической активности и влияния жителей на происходящие в городе позитивные изменения.

Все проекты