R.I.M. Porter Novelli

World Without Waste — Coca-Cola follows up

16.11.2018

On World Recycling Day November 15, the Coca‑Cola System in Russia, ERA Foundation and EcoTechnologies Group summarized the second year of the Federal Program “Sort With Us” aimed at promotion of the culture and practice of segregated waste collection, and announced the expansion of the program as well as new partner initiatives.

The Sort With Us Program is being implemented as part of the global Coca-Cola strategy – World Without Waste. Coca-Cola set a sustainable packaging goal, i.e. switch over to fully recyclable packaging by 2025 and ensure 100-percent collection and recycling of the equivalent of every bottle or can it sells globally by 2030.

In Russia, the Sort With Us program has been running since 2016. It is composed of two parts: infrastructural part, which includes distribution of waste containers, collection and recycling of packaging waste, and educational part aimed to educate the public on what, how and where to collect and recycle. In the two years, the company installed 4,500 waste containers in 40 cities of Russia, collected and recycled about 50,000 tons of packaging waste. Over 800,000 people took part in the educational part of the Sort With Us Program.

The implementation of the large-scale information campaign in support of segregated waste collection in all the 12 stadiums of 2018 FIFA World Cup and FIFA fan festivals became on the most important initiatives of the Sort With Us program in close cooperation with FIFA and Russia-2018 Organizational Committee. Apart from the infrastructural measures for the collection and segregation of waste, a comprehensive educational program for segregated waste collection was for the first time implemented for employees, volunteers and fans attending football matches. More than 1,300 navigation placards were placed above the waste containers in the stadiums. Educational video clips were broadcast on the screens and media facades of the stadiums and at FIFA fans festivals. Joint efforts of Coca-Cola and its partners helped collect and remove for recycling more than 32 tons of PET plastics, which is the equivalent of 100-percent PET bottles of Coca-Cola sold at the World Cup 2018.

The Sort With Us program attracts more and more followers no only among the population, but also among social and educational organizations. Coca-Cola System in Russia and the Russian Red Cross Society signed a memorandum of understanding on cooperation in the field of environmental education and emergency intervention. British Higher School of Art and Design presented an exhibition of young artists and designers stimulating segregated collection of waste and eco-friendly lifestyle.

At the panel discussion, the participants and organizers gave their comments regarding successful results of the Sort With Us program and plans for its further development.

Michael Vinet, Coca-Cola System in Russia General Manager of the FIFA 2018 Project: “The world is facing the challenge of recycling consumer package waste, and our World Without Waste vision is designed to help meet this challenge. Plastic bottles and cans can be of benefit to the public if they are designed and recycled correctly. A waste-free world is real, and we want to promote this vision. That is why we announced this bold and ambitious goal: collect and recycle every single bottle or can we sell by 2030.”

Federico Addiechi, FIFA’s Head of Sustainability and Diversity: “Our past experience has shown that responsible waste management is the critically important issue that helps make FIFA World Cups sustainable in their development. Therefore, we are pleased with the results we managed to achieve jointly with the Organizational Committee, Coca-Cola and stadium operators in the field of waste management and recycling. We hope that the legacy of our program will help make segregated waste collection and recycling even more accessible within the framework of large-scale arrangements in Russia.”

Raisa Lukutsova, Chairperson of the Russian Red Cross Society: “International Red Cross has been actively cooperating with Coca-Cola all over the world, and our organization is happy to offer such cooperation in the field of environmental responsibility here, in Russia. In the course of any disaster cleanup operations, we shall jointly perform collection of waste for its further recycling. Also, we shall arrange and conduct educational activities for the citizens at the regional branches of the Russian Red Cross to explain them the basics of environmentally-friendly behavior and the importance of segregated waste collection.”

Anastasia Butrym, Director of the British Higher School of Art and Design: “We are happy to join the Sort With Us program. For us, the important area of focus involves responsible design, and 2018 within our school was declared as the Year of Ecology. Out contribution to the project will include an exhibition of young artists and designers promoting healthy and eco-friendly lifestyles. All authors endeavor to not only inform the spectators, but also motivate them, call for action, for instance, for the participation in the Share With Us program.”

Artem Korolev, a TV presenter, Ambassador of the Share With Us program, Member of the Jury for All-Russian Ecological Flash Mob: “Everyone can set aside some time and try to change the situation in our country related to segregated waste collection and recycling. People in other countries have already done it. Just telling your family and friends about this issue can change the situation. And next time, when passing by waste containers, just throw your empty plastic bottle in the correct recycling bin. This way, we can start making life space around us more comfortable and safe.”

R.I.M. Communications Agency has been guiding the “Sort with Us” Project since the date of its commencement, by providing comprehensive consulting, organizational and communication support.

R.I.M. Porter Novelli

Мир без отходов — Coca-Cola делает следующий шаг

16.11.2018

15 ноября в Международный день вторичной переработки система Coca-Cola в России, фонд «ЭРА» и ГК «ЭкоТехнологии» подвели итоги второго года федеральной программы «Разделяй с нами», направленной на продвижение культуры и практики раздельного сбора отходов, и объявили о расширении программы и новых партнерских инициативах.

Программа «Разделяй с нами» реализуется в рамках глобальной стратегии Coca-Cola «Мир без отходов» (World Without Waste). Coca-Cola поставила перед собой цель перейти на полностью перерабатываемую упаковку к 2025 году и к 2030 году обеспечить сбор и переработку 100% эквивалента упаковки, выпускаемой на рынок.

В России программа «Разделяй с нами» реализуется с 2016 года и состоит из двух частей: инфраструктурной, включающей расстановку контейнеров, сбор и переработку отходов упаковки, и просветительской, направленной на обучение населения культуре раздельного сбора отходов. По итогам двух лет было установлено 4500 контейнеров в 40 городах России, собрано и переработано около 50 тысяч тонн отходов упаковки. В образовательной программе «Разделяй с нами» приняли участие более 800 тысяч человек.

Одной из важнейших инициатив «Разделяй с нами» в тесном сотрудничестве с FIFA и Организационным комитетом «Россия-2018» стала реализация масштабной информационной кампании в поддержку раздельного сбора отходов на всех 12 стадионах Чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA 2018 и Фестивалях болельщиков FIFA. Помимо инфраструктурных мер обеспечения сбора и разделения отходов, впервые была реализована комплексная образовательная программа по раздельному сбору отходов для сотрудников, волонтеров и болельщиков, посещающих матчи. Над контейнерами на стадионах было размещено более 1300 навигационных плакатов. На экранах и медиафасадах стадионов и Фестивалях болельщиков FIFA транслировались образовательные видеоролики. Совместными усилиями Coca-Cola и партнеров было собрано и отправлено на переработку более 32 тонн пластиковой (РЕТ) упаковки, что является эквивалентом 100% PET упаковки продукции Coca-Cola, реализованной на мундиале.

Программа «Разделяй с нами» привлекает все больше сторонников не только среди населения, но и среди общественных и образовательных организаций. На мероприятии система Coca-Cola в России и Общероссийская общественная организация «Российский Красный Крест» подписали соглашение о намерениях в области сотрудничества в экопросветительской деятельности и сфере устранения последствий ЧС. Британская высшая школа дизайна представила выставку работ молодых художников и дизайнеров, мотивирующих к раздельному сбору мусора и более экологичному образу жизни.

На состоявшейся панельной дискуссии успешные результаты программы «Разделяй с нами» и дальнейшие планы развития прокомментировали её участники и организаторы.

Генеральный директор проекта Чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA 2018 системы Coca-Cola в России Микаэль Вине: «Мир столкнулся с проблемой отходов потребительской упаковки, и наша стратегия «Мир без отходов» (World Without Waste) призвана помочь в ее решении. Пластиковые бутылки и банки могут принести пользу обществу, если будут правильно разработаны и утилизированы. Мир без мусора возможен, и мы хотим содействовать этому. Вот почему мы объявили смелую амбициозную цель: собрать и переработать каждую бутылку и банку, которую мы продадим к 2030».

Руководитель по устойчивому развитию и социокультурному многообразию FIFA Федерико Аддиеке: «Наш предыдущий опыт показывает, что ответственное управление отходам – это критически важная задача, которая помогает сделать Чемпионаты Мира устойчивыми в своем развитии. Поэтому, мы очень рады результатам, которых нам удалось достичь вместе с Оргкомитетом, Coca-Cola и руководством стадионов в области управления и утилизации отходов. Мы надеемся, что наследие нашей программы поможет сделать раздельный сбор отходов и их утилизацию еще более доступными в рамках крупномасштабных мероприятий в России».

Председатель общероссийской общественной организации «Российский Красный Крест» Раиса Лукутцова: «Международный Красный Крест активно сотрудничает с Coca-Cola по всему миру, и наша организация рада продолжить это сотрудничество в России в области экологической ответственности. При устранении последствий стихийных бедствий и катастроф мы совместно будем осуществлять сбор отходов с последующей их переработкой. Также на базе региональных отделений Российского Красного Креста будут проводиться образовательные мероприятия для граждан, чтобы объяснить им основы экологичного поведения и важность раздельного сбора мусора».

Директор Британской высшей школы дизайна Анастасия Бутрым: «Мы рады присоединиться к программе “Разделяй с нами”. Для нас очень важным направлением работы является ответственный дизайн, а 2018 год в стенах школы объявлен Годом экологии. Нашим вкладом в проект является выставка работ молодых художников и дизайнеров, призывающих к экологичному образу жизни. Все авторы стремятся не просто информировать зрителя, а мотивировать его, призвать к действию, например, к участию в проекте “Разделяй с нами”».

Телеведущий, амбассадор программы «Разделяй с нами», член жюри Всероссийского экологического флешмоба Артем Королев: «Каждый из нас может выделить немного времени и сил для того, чтобы ситуация с раздельным сбором и переработкой отходов в нашей стране изменилась. Жители многих других стран уже к этому пришли. Даже если вы просто расскажете об этом близким и друзьям, ситуация начнет меняться. А в следующий раз, проходя мимо мусорных контейнеров, выбросите пластиковую бутылку туда, куда надо. Так мы начнем делать более комфортным для жизни пространство вокруг себя».

Коммуникационное агентство Р.И.М. ведёт проект «Разделяй с нами» с момента его начала, оказывая комплексную консультационную, организационную и коммуникационную поддержку.